Free shipping on everything! No sales tax unless you're in Texas.

Pro Dunk Gold Basketball System Reviews - Page 5

[40 of 66 customers found this review helpful]

I'm going pro!
By Slammin Slim from Dexter, MO on 01/05/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Cons:NONE!!!
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I installed the product around my new pool house. People that come over are playing basketball more than swimming because they can't get over the quality of the goal. We have already spent hours playing on it and I don't see it coming down anytime soon. I'm not a light weight, but I can go and dunk on the goal with out it budging. The backboard has the same response as a professional goal. For the price I should've bought two. Best money I've spent in years.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Simple Design, Awesome Performance
By Turfman from Coatesville, PA on 01/12/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Simple design, but great performance and quality. Best residential hoop I have ever used.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[36 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

Great basketball goal! Installed in less than 2 hours.
By Ben for Basketball from LORTON, VA on 01/12/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Would be nice if the handle could be removed to prevent height adjustment.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Love it!! Adjusts low enough for my 3 year old to play and is strong enough for my teenage son and his friends to show off on.
By Brian from Mooreville, MS on 01/13/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Very easy to adjust, kids love it!!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[40 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

The BEST Basketball System Brand Out There, PERIOD!
By Alex R. from Naperville, IL on 01/16/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Cons:height adjust is tedious
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The system is everything they say it is. The support and customer service is top notch. All in all, I love it! The things that I can see that would make the system even better is change the gear ratios in the height adjustment mechanism to allow the adjustment handle to more quickly change the height of the rim. If you have a wide age range of kids using the system and you are constantly changing moving the rim from 10' to 6' and back again, you will quickly realize that the current adjustment mechanism is slower and more tedious than you want it to be. Additionally, it would be nice if the height adjustment sticker would be weatherproof (laminated maybe?). I could see the sticker deteriorating in the elements (Chicago) and falling off in a few years.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[35 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

I will buy this product again
By Sue the horse lover from san diego, CA on 01/26/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Husband is on a basketball team. He loves our hoop at home.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 66 customers found this review helpful]

My son who is only 5yrs old,,,,,loves it.
By Big Boy from Springfield, IL on 01/26/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

So great to use for all ages!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[36 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Great Goal. I did alot of research and this was the best!
By Doorknob from Eudora, KS on 02/09/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Tournaments, Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great for the family and competitive games with the big boys! Easy install. Watch the online installation video. Delivery by Old Dominion Freight was wonderful. Have a 50 x 40 backyard court. The 60 in backboard is plenty big enough. Have hung on the rim with no problem even did a few pullups. I'm 225lbs.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[26 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

Best Residential Basketball Hoop !
By kingkoi from Santa Rosa, CA on 03/07/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant, holds up to strong wind, Great curve appeal
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Commercial Use, Tournaments, Pickup Games, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My kids enjoy playing b-ball now that they can adjust readily for dunks. Great play for adults too, its sturdy for those who like to hang on the rim. The best part about the court is that I do not have to worry about the wind blowing the court over.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 66 customers found this review helpful]

Best basketball stand sold on the market!!!
By JD Livengood from WAKE FOREST, NC on 03/18/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Cons:Hard To Setup
Best Uses:Tournaments, Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, Commercial Use, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great basketball goal, but definitely needs three muscular people to put backboard onto arms.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 52 customers found this review helpful]

sized does matter (big league)
By white haired hooper from New Bern, NC on 03/22/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant, envied by all my friends
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

it give big league performance im 57 years old my 13 and 10 year old insist i play with them on the daily basis.I have watch their d game improve to A i feel younger and enjoy the pro dunk basketball like none before. I could not imagine a better product and its worth every dollar i spent

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[29 of 57 customers found this review helpful]

Great product. Lots of Complements
By Mizzou Tiger from Lenexa, KS on 03/22/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Stable, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Cons:none
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Bought this for my 5 and 7 year old. The lower end height is much lower than other models and the the distance from backboard to post is larger than most. You can tell the extra couple of hundred dollars (compared to other popular brands) was well spent and result in longer life and nicer looking product

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[30 of 59 customers found this review helpful]

Excellent system
By Brad in KC from Shawnee, KS on 03/22/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The one complaint I have is that there is no way to lock the height of the goal other than a pin. The pin gets bent up and destroyed pretty quickly by 5 to 10 year old kids that don't understand why the goal won't go any lower. And if you want to lock it at say 6'-0", that isn't really very easy to do. There is a whole drilled in a piece of metal near the handle that you can install a lock, but it is too small for a standard lock to fit in (I could not find a manufacturer that had a weatherproof lock that would work). I had to drill a larger hole and paint it to make it work. Just seems like it would be a lot simpler to weld a slightly larger piece of metal there in the first place and drill a slightly larger hole.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[30 of 58 customers found this review helpful]

Perfect!
By David from City, RI on 03/23/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

So nice that a 9 yo can adjust hoop up and down on his own!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[28 of 53 customers found this review helpful]

Great Product!
By rhooger from Chatsworth, GA on 03/23/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My kids and I love this basket ball goal! You get the feel of a real backboard with a true bounce.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 55 customers found this review helpful]

We love our Pro Dunk Goal
By Michael from Tomball, TX on 03/25/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Cons:No play on rainy days!
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My kids are really enjoying the goal, it's the best system in the neighborhood, neighbor kids are at our house almost every day playing basketball.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[25 of 54 customers found this review helpful]

Delivered and Installed as Promised!
By Notorious B.I.G. from Cypress, TX on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We are very pleased, though the vinyl covering over the pad at the base of the pole is already deteriorating. Not sure why, but this will need to be replaced in the near future. Other than that, the goal is exactly what we needed to help us practice at home. The installation was absolutely perferct.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[29 of 59 customers found this review helpful]

Kids think I am the best dad ever
By Jp from San Antonio, TX on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We are having a great time with our new goal. The unit is very stable with no real vibrations after a brick shot of the glass. Will have years of fun with this unit.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[29 of 57 customers found this review helpful]

Everyone Loves it!
By Hydrator1 from Gastonia, NC on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant, Kids can adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My 4 year old twins love to adjust it and see how high they can shoot. My 6 year old tries to dunk on the lower setting. It is easy to lift the little ones up so that they can dunk! We hired someone to install it due to time constraints as well as an irrigation drainage line that could not be relocated. Also, it is not an eye sore. The clear backboard and black frame seem to blend in with our house and yard. Love, love, love this!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 54 customers found this review helpful]

Great System! Easy install and smooth operation. My kids love it!
By none from Paragould, AR on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

none

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

Professional Product
By Peacock from New Canaan, CT on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, phone service exceptional, professional look
Cons:Difficult To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I use with grandkids. Can adjust down to 5' 5" for little guy dunking and shooting. Kind of tedious in the cranking from 10' to 5',

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[28 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

Love it! Great investment.
By Sixfive from Snellville, GA on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Everything about this was easy. Ordering, delivery, and installation were simple. I installed the entire thing myself with only the help of my kids (I'd recommend getting another adult or two but I was impatient.). My kids love it and I love it. The hoop looks and plays great. The backboard response is the best of any outdoor hoop I've ever played on and I played in college which equates to tons of park games.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[28 of 54 customers found this review helpful]

Best goal ever!
By Russ dad of 6 boys from Marietta, GA on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We have a large family (6 boys) and we play on this goal everyday. It is solid and I have no doubt it will continue to hold up under even the most frequent use.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[29 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

My Son and His Friends Are Blown Away
By canscdm from Corona del Mar, CA on 04/25/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Cons:No play on rainy days!
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We set the hop in our back yoar and our son has been loving it. The feel of the rim and bounce of the ball is almost equal to an institutional grade board and the boy's have a blast with thier "dunk" contests. A great space saver allowing us to fully utilize the space we had in our yard. We're so glad we went this route versus one of the movable hoops.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[28 of 59 customers found this review helpful]

Awesome - Kids Love it!!!
By DDavis - TX from Perryton, TX on 04/25/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Cons:None!
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, Commercial Use, Tournaments, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We got the Gold system and I installed the entire goal myself including the cement work. I just needed help getting the glass backboard with glass on since it is so heavy (which is a good thing because the rebound off the glass is gym quality). This goal is better than the $3,000 goals at the local Activity Center (YMCA) and my 6 year old daughter can lower it to 5 feet so her 3 year old brother can shoot on it. After playing on it, my brother returned the goal he bought from Academy Sports and Outdoors and ordered the exact same Gold system and his kids love it too. I have no regrets buying this goal. If I had to do it all over again I would with no hesitation. The price is higher than one would expect when shopping for a goal, but once you play on it you will think it was under-priced. Thanks, we love it!!!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[32 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

Outstanding quality and versatility for the price.
By Gene from WICHITA, KS on 04/25/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Cons:Hard to find installer
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My 4 year-old lives in the driveway now. He can raise and lower it by himself, and he can get it low enough to make it easily. I can also raise to 10 ft and practice for my men's rec league. Or to 9'6" and dunk away - strong and stable.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 53 customers found this review helpful]

Great basketball system for home
By Just win baby... from Mertztown, PA on 04/25/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great product and i can recommend this to anyone.....

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 54 customers found this review helpful]

EXCELLENT SYSTEM FOR ALL AGES!
By Mr. Boston Celtic from Fort Wayne, IN on 05/02/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Tempered glass backboard is a must for feel and control. The rim responsiveness to dunking is awesome for young kids building confidence and excitement for the game!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[29 of 52 customers found this review helpful]

The Best by Far.
By JB from Leawood, KS on 05/02/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust
Cons:2-3 people needed
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The highest quality/best value residential system on the market.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[29 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

This is one solid mother of a basketball hoop!
By Fun for the whole family! from Salem, OR on 05/03/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Easy To Adjust
Cons:Some minor welding flaws
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I dug the hole and poured the concrete by hand, which was pretty challenging and took 2 days. The assembly of the actual hoop was fairly quick and easy. Several of the pieces are pretty heavy and require a couple of people to lift in place. The backboard is very heavy and required 3 people to lift and bolt. I am very happy with this hoop system!!!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[28 of 57 customers found this review helpful]

"Look forward to enjoying for years to come"
By Coach C from Washington, MI on 05/03/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Product is extremely stable and well-built. Installation was easier than expected--we had a concrete contractor pour the foundation, and then a group of 3 of us installed the system in under 2 hours. My 5-year old can adjust the height of the rim with ease. Can't find a single fault thus far!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 55 customers found this review helpful]

Good product
By G-man from Lake Forest, CA on 05/07/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Tournaments, Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Overall very happy with product. The only room for improvement is the adjustment lever. The kids complain that it takes too long to move up and down - too many turns/revolutions needed to get it to adjust.

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:
It may seem like quite a few revolutions but it still takes less than 60 seconds to go from 5 all the way up to 10 feet. Also, there is a trade-off there. If we reduce the revolutions, it would be harder to adjust. We truly appreciate your feedback though and will take that into account when looking at the design of the adjustment mechanism in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[25 of 52 customers found this review helpful]

Would recommend to friends!
By Soloflight from Mount Airy, MD on 05/10/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant
Cons:No play on rainy days!
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great construction! The height adjustment is easy, but the only downside is that it takes a long time to crank the arm to go from 5' to 10'.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[30 of 54 customers found this review helpful]

Love it
By Mike from Westfield, MA on 05/17/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great sturdy hoop, great price

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[27 of 48 customers found this review helpful]

So far so good!
By KB from Riverwoods, IL on 05/17/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I have 5 year olds learning to play, so being able to adjust it below other 7.5 foot systems is great! The only downside is that since it extends so far over the driveway when lowered, I'm afraid I'm going to forget to put it up and back the car into it. But it is so solid that it will likely destroy the car before anything happens to the system...

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[28 of 52 customers found this review helpful]

"I would buy this product again and again"
By hoopsters from Providence, RI on 05/18/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust
Cons:stiff rim
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Perfect hoop

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[28 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

Quality product but tough to compare to Gorila-each mfg has so many models hard to judge "value"
By bodine the dunker from Downers Grove, IL on 05/18/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant, great installer
Cons:bit pricey
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

bought the unit for my son....still in 2nd grade. Lots of initial use...now into baseball season. Saw some really nice Gorillia units in neighborhood...maybe they were a better buy? hard to tell value prop on these units. Still...it's a nice quality unit and seems well built. Installer steered us to pro dunk...he did a nice job too.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

A few disappointments in an otherwise very good product
By Ron Bench the Engineer from Orchard Park, NY on 05/18/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, large offset distance, adjustability range
Cons:Poor Materials / Construction, poor instruction detail
Best Uses:Residential Use, Tournaments, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

First, I must declare that I'm a mechanical engineer with 30 years of experience in the design and manufacture of precision mechanisms for the aerospace and defense industries, as well as a number of years in the home construction business. So, consider my comments about product quality with that in mind. Overall, the Pro Dunk Gold system is a good value for the money, far superior to similarly priced systems I've found in sporting goods stores. The 1/2" thickness of the tempered glass backboard combined with the large cross-sectional dimensions of the steel support structure result in an exceptionally solid feel and response. The customary "thunk" and "rattle" of balls bouncing off my neighbors' hoop system is noticeably absent on my Pro Dunk Gold system. Furthermore, the adjustability down to a rim height of almost 4.5 ft. made installation of the very heavy backboard possible without ladders. Even my 3 year old son can shoot hoops now. Now for the few disappointments: I ordered my system with the optional "rust armor" corrosion protection since I live in the Buffalo NY area. While the all stainless steel hardware is an excellent feature, I had the expectation that the advertised zinc galvanization on every piece of steel would mean my system, at least when new, would be rust-free. Not so. Upon assembly, I noticed numerous tiny bubbles on the exterior paint surfaces that, when rubbed, revealed a rusted sub-surface. I removed the plastic cap on the top of the main support post and found that the interior surface was covered with rust also - not a little, but rather the entire surface. So, I ended up repairing all surfaces with a rust conversion product and painting or repainting the surfaces. I'm pretty sure that's not what paying extra for "rust armor" was supposed to mean. A second quality issue: Being the semi-perfectionist that I am, I took great pains to ensure that my installation of the post mounting template into the concrete was exactly level so that the post would not need significant leveling adjustment. I just wish the guys who weld the mounting flange to the post and the guys that weld the main extension arm supporting the rim were half as meticulous. The former lacks perpendicularity and the latter is twisted by as much as 1/2" so that to establish a level rim, I need to adjust the main support post to be out of level...a visual issue that again indicates poor quality control. My third issue is more about structural design rather than quality. Although I'm sure the design of the main post/mounting flange is structurally sound and of adequate stiffness (I did some structural calculations myself), I was surprised that the welded connection between the mounting flange and the post has 2X the gussets for lateral stiffening as it does for fore-aft stiffening. Since most of load at this joint is fore-aft (due both to the backboard cantilever load and rim loads), the extra gussets should really be fore-aft, not side-side. Not sure if the error is the design engineer's or whether the guys assembling the weldments and backboard mounting features aren't paying attention to the gusset orientation, but come on guys - this is an easy fix to increase the stiiffness at no cost. Fortunately (i think), I'm a do-it-yourself guy that doesn't mind getting my hands dirty and these issues were easy enough for me to correct myself rather than look at my 2 frowning boys wait for me to return this for replacement, not knowing if the next one will be any better. For over $1500 I did expect a little better quality control, but once I saw the large lettering on the shipment box that read "Made in China", my expectations dropped. By the way, based on some product reviews I read on this system before I bought it, I originally thought I was getting a product made in America. All that being said, I still think it's the best product out there, but could be so much better with a very small investment in effort by the manufacturer. Hopefully I've helped others approach this purchase with their eyes a bit more wide open. Who knows - perhaps someone who works for the company will read this and help to correct these issues so you can give them 5 stars!

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:
First, thank you for the great feedback! We love to hear from engineers with a critical eye. We spotted the same room for improvement on the gussets you did about 6 months ago. About 5 weeks ago we made the switch. All systems now use eight gussets for support front to back and side to side. As for your issues with the finish, this is a rare defect and is covered by the warranty. We'll be in touch to get this remedied for you.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[26 of 51 customers found this review helpful]

Awesome hoop system.
By Tom and Owen from Sinking Spring, PA on 05/18/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Cons:No play on rainy days!
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great product! We are the envy of the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[18 of 32 customers found this review helpful]

Good price, good quality, good installation
By John from Raleigh, NC on 05/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I have been very pleased

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no