Free shipping on everything! No sales tax unless you're in Texas.

Roof King Gold Basketball System Reviews - Page 1

[139 of 260 customers found this review helpful]

This was an excellent choice
By Vincent S from Mississauga, ON on 06/28/2010
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We installed this backboard system a few weeks ago and my family and I really enjoy playing on it. I compared it to several other systems before deciding to go with this one. The thicker backboard has a very nice feel compared to the thinner ones. We were able to put it together and install it in no time. It also looks great. It would be great if they made a height adjustable version.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[129 of 241 customers found this review helpful]

Best out there, but not without its faults
By Nate from Denver, CO on 07/07/2010
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Unstable, Hard To Setup
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I chose this particular backboard because I just bought a house and wanted something high-quality and something that would last. I have a soon-to-be nine-year-old son who has already shown promise as a basketball player. I'm confident this backboard/hoop is ideal for him to play on as he matures into a competitive athlete. Pros: This is the highest-quality residential backboard/rim package on the market. It blows anything you might find at a sporting goods store out of the water. And it looks good to boot. Cons: The bracket that mounts on the roof (and to which the backboard attaches) is clumsy and required wider washers than what was provided. Without wider washers, when the bolts attaching the backboard were tightened, it squeezed the bracket out of shape and, if left like that, would have resulted in the backboard slipping down the bracket and potentially off the roof. Considering the thing weighs 200 lbs., this would be quite dangerous. In any event, this is more of a flaw in the design, not in the quality or craftsmanship. With the wider washers, I was able to mount everything properly and safely.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[48 of 82 customers found this review helpful]

You get what you pay for
By Crossover from Maynard, MA on 11/17/2010
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Quality back board with true bound not like the poly carb ones out there. Only issue are lag bolts. These really should be carriage bolds as the back board is very heavy and these are better for securing the bracket to the roof (couple dollars at the local hardware store). Also, you will need three people to mount the backboard to the bracket. By far the best roof mount on the market!!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[40 of 70 customers found this review helpful]

simply outstanding
By Big Man's Dad from Denver, CO on 04/03/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I figured for the price this would be high-quality, and it is indeed. My 9 year old has put down the video games and spends hours on the driveway shooting hoops. Exactly what I had hoped. The wife was not thrilled about the idea of a backboard on the garage roof. After install, now even she thinks it looks great. It is heavy, so some difficulty installing. But the weight is part of the quality. I hope it can withstand many Colorado winters. Although expensive, I HIGHLY recommend this system.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[34 of 62 customers found this review helpful]

Nice garage roof backet system
By IronMike from torrance, CA on 02/28/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response
Cons:Hard To Setup
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The main drawback is that it took 2 people 6 hours to set up, so be prepared for an all day session. Since the supports did not line up with my roof rafters, some minor interior roof work was required. . Overall I really like the finished product. The basketball that came with it is a nice touch.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[34 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

Everyone love to come to our house to play basketball !
By SuperMom from SANTA ANA, CA on 03/22/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

This is a solid, quality product. It definitely took a team of neighbors to help hoist it onto the roof while my husband secured it but it was well worth it. The kids play on it everyday and it has turned our driveway into a mini-basketball court. We highly recommend this hoop and backboard system.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[32 of 58 customers found this review helpful]

Pricey but Quaility
By Hoop Dad from San Mateo, CA on 04/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We needed a better quality roof mounted unit for our driveway, and we found it. First class performance and looks. Quite a beast to install due to it's weight, so be sure to enlist a couple of helpers. Not inexpensive, but a good value for the quality.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[26 of 55 customers found this review helpful]

Works like it looks... Pretty darn good...
By Backboard User from Wauwatosa, WI on 05/01/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Stable, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Unstable
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

How can it be stable and unstable at the same time? I thought for the money they could had had some type of cross support... But it doesn't. However, its a fairly solid backboard and we enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[31 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

It's a very good product I won't buy any other brand again
By Boy370z from Cicero, IL on 05/13/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, High-Quality Materials / Construction
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Very good product

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[29 of 57 customers found this review helpful]

It's a Winner
By Bill the Builder from King of Prussia, PA on 05/17/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Directions are lame
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

First of all, it's a mystery why such a high quality product did not warrant 15 minutes of effort from someone that can write descriptively in English...nuf said bout the directions. Look, you can install this thing BY YOURSELF faster and easier than the awkward 3-man suggested installation: Lay an extension ladder at a low angle running from your driveway up to the frame that you just installed on your roof. Bolt a temporary piece of 4x4 to the frame with the top surface at the elevation where you want the bottom of the backboard. Place the backboard face-down/top-down in the bottom half of its box and centered on the ladder. Thread a good rope through the framing at the top of the backboard and then carry the two ends of the rope up to the roof using a step ladder. Standing on the roof, carefully pull the backboard towards yourself up the ladder "ramp", sliding on the cardboard box. When the bottom of the backboard reaches the roof, pull up on the ropes in order to rotate the backboard into an upright position and then place the bottom of the backboard on the 4x4 and secure by tying rope tightly to the roof frame. You are now free to bolt the backboard to the frame at leisure with the backboard securely supported in its desired position. After bolts are tight, remove 4x4 and install rim. Knock down some three's!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[25 of 45 customers found this review helpful]

A fine addition to the driveway
By Net Happy from Chicago, IL on 05/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Hard To Setup
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

This is a great product to add functionality to driveway space. It also is a fun way to keep the kids active and off the couch! It looks professional and provides solid rebounding action. Had some concerns during installation regarding the set screws that allow angle changes. They seemed prone to slip until super tightened. Recommend adding cross members under roof so mounting bolts have additional material into which to bite. Now properly mounted, the system is quite sturdy and, so far, holding up to Chicago weather and countless attempts by my children to improve their lefty layups!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[16 of 29 customers found this review helpful]

You won't be disappointed
By Dan from Westside, IA on 05/30/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My son and I use this for one on one and HORSE in our driveway. We had a portable unit that was unstable and had a terrible backboard. One shot on this and I knew we had a winner. The instructions were easy to follow and we (three of us) had it on the roof in 1.5 hours.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[12 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

Fantastic Product!
By Jenny from Darien, IL on 06/06/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing, Someone else installed
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The product has been a great asset to our home. The adjustable backboard allows the kids to utilize the system for many years.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[10 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

Looks Great! Works Great!
By Cuz from Erie, CO on 09/06/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great backboard for family fun! Would recommend to friends and family!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[7 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

A Perfect System!
By Ty Guy from Hastings, MN on 12/13/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Took 60 minutes for 3 men to install - 1 on the roof doing the drilling, 2 on ladders holding the backboard/rim. Couldn't be easier to set up. Looks great above our single-stall garage. 12 year old son uses it non-stop. The bounce off of the backboard is as true as can be expected from an outdoor hoop.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

How old is your garage roof?
By JC from North, NJ on 02/25/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Hard To Setup
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I don't usually comment on products I buy on line, but I felt compelled to share my experience as there were no warnings or notices provided by ProDunk for the situation I encountered. My garage (stand alone structure) is 80 years old and it has several layers of roofing on it. The lag screws provided were not long enough to reach through all of the roofing materials, and there was no plywood sheeting for the screws to attach to. I had to install 1/2" plywood sheeting first and then buy lag screws long enough to penetrate all of the roofing materials and then new sheeting. The system isn't as stable as I would prefer, but once I get the roof replaced the stability should improve. Note that I deem this to be a true safety issue. The DIYer might not think to check for plywood sheeting and the whole thing could come down. The back board is incredibly heavy so it could be dangerous if the whole system were to detach from the roof. This product is best installed professionally. I do love the product though. My son and I have made heavy use of it since it's been up.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[5 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

very nice!
By Joe P from Overland Park, KS on 02/25/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Someone else installed
Best Uses:Residential Use, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

great for dunking

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

Great product!
By Jim from Houston, TX on 02/25/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing, Someone else installed
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Install was extremely professional.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[8 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

Excellent hoop!
By Doug from Medford, OR on 04/17/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Terrific product, but washers on the back are too small for the metal bracket.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[7 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

perfect for us
By The Boss from Amarillo, TX on 05/23/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction

easy install & perfect for our use, my daughter loves it!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

good product
By steve the dad from Dallas, TX on 06/11/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing, Someone else installed
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

use it every weekend...great for backyard HORSE or pick up games

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

Heavy...but great product!
By Hoopsfamily from Old Greenwich, CT on 06/23/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We love our new backboard and hoop! It is pretty easy to assemble and install, but be mindful that it is very heavy and working to install it on the roof of a garage, you should have at least two extra sets of hands to lift and hold it in place while attaching. Very solid construction with quality materials. Kids love it!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[5 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

I would recommend this product
By 9 foot vertical from Denver, CO on 07/10/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Unstable, Directions are lame
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

the one page instructions are too generic. I missed some keys parts as they are not labeled. The adjustable supports ( for roof angle) should have more than one set screw. Once installed it looks good and performs well.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

"Nice addition to our house"
By Tall Jim from Wilmington, DE on 11/12/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing, Someone else installed
Cons:Backboard heavy to get po
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We go out 3 or 4 times a week and just shoot around, very stable, soft rim(promotes success), looks great

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[5 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

As advertised and more.
By Pete Guy from Tigard, OR on 11/15/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Directions are lame
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Our driveway lends itself to a garage mounted unit much more than a pole mounted one, but all of the other high quality units were pole mounted. I wanted the wider backboard Platinum model but opted for the Gold model because of concerns with the relatively narrow bracket paired with the heavier backboard since play off the glass and rim stability were a priority. Now that it is mounted I would not have any qualms about stability of the Platinum model if the additional glass is important to you. The directions are anemic but the sustem is so simple that they were not needed. The only difficulty was the lift up to the bracket which my older son and I were able to do on two ladders with my younger son starting two of the mounting bolts which was enough to hold it in place.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[7 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

Great hoop
By Kel from Tomball, TX on 01/16/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, High-Quality Materials / Construction
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Practicing with my 10 yr old

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[6 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

Great product
By Jim from Chicago, IL on 01/19/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing, Someone else installed
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would not recommend this product to a friend

Perfect for family fun.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

I would buy this product
By Russ from Katy, TX on 02/21/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Unstable
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

When shooting off the backboard the backboard Shimmys from the force of the shot. Not sure how to fix

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

Excellent work
By WSF from Houston, TX on 04/21/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing, Someone else installed
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

..

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

Product vs. Service
By Self Pickup Paul from Wilmington, DE on 05/11/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, High-Quality Materials / Construction
Cons:Hard To Setup, Directions are lame
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The product itself is great. I am very happy with the way it looks and the backboard stability. However, I am disappointed in two aspects: 1.) Delivery: While the warehouse that held the equipment was less than 2 miles away, they could not guarantee delivery in a 4 hour window and claimed that any re-stocking charges would be applied to my bill. Produnkhoops should perform more due diligence around the companies that they use for shipping and delivery. 2.) The instructions for roof-mounted instruction are very poor. A picture or diagram goes a long way. Overall it took us about 1.5 hours to install on the roof with three people. The hardest part was lifting/holding the backboard in place while it was secured. I was very disappointed with the delivery service. They originally looked for an 8-hour window (no weekend delivery) and could not commit to a 4-hour window even though the package was within 2 miles of my house. They were ready to charge me extra or return the product if I could not be at home when they came. I eventually went to the warehouse myself to pick up the equipment and would encourage your company to discontinue the use of your delivery service (Old Dominion) in Northern Delaware.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

Solid, High Quality Roof-Mounted Hoop
By Hoops from Portland, OR on 06/27/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I bought this hoop for my early teenage sons who play on several competitive basketball teams. There was no place to install a standard hoop with base in our driveway, so the roof-mounted hoop was our only option. I was very skeptical of the quality and stability of roof-mounted hoops, having seen older ones installed throughout our neighborhood. However, this product is great and exactly what we are looking for. I am extremely happy with the product and my kids practice on it almost every day. The backboard and rim are very stout and made with high quality. The installation kit and is straight-forward and easy to follow. We installed it ourselves within an hour. One thing to note....because the backboard and rim are so solid and stout, they are extremely heavy. You will need at least 3 people to install and 2 good ladders. Overall, we are very pleased with the product and would strongly recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

Awesome
By Mike from Chicago, IL on 06/28/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction
Cons:Backboard heavy to get po
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The backboard doesn't move!!! I have a high school aged son and him and his friends play on it every day the weather allows! This thing doesn't move...it's AWESOME!!! I have had the other cheaper hoop systems and they don't last. Spend the money on this system and you will be very satisfied.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no