Free shipping on everything! No sales tax unless you're in Texas.

Roof King Platinum Basketball System Reviews - Page 1

[158 of 296 customers found this review helpful]

Found right goal
By chairman of the boards from Largo, FL on 05/15/2010
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Simulates real gym board.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[144 of 279 customers found this review helpful]

Everything turned out great
By MarkP from Rancho Dominquez, CA on 05/21/2010
This is a verified buyer of this product
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Everything turned out great but I had to get an extension metal tubing because my roof (Garage)incline is flat.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[150 of 287 customers found this review helpful]

you get what you pay for
By hammer from Livonia, MI on 06/07/2010
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

this is a very good basketball system with high quality parts and very pro looking. The backboard does have a good rebound for not being glass. It does take two strong guys to put this unit up on your garage, the backboard is very heavy with that metal frame and extra thick backboard. The free basketball you get with the unit is not very good, it has no bounce to it, go out and buy a good indoor/outdoor spalding basketball and you will be all set. I hope to get many years out of this system and have it still look as good as it does now.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[146 of 268 customers found this review helpful]

Great Backboard at a Great Price
By Andy the Coach from Dover, MA on 07/07/2010
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Our roof is too low but we were able to build up with decking and it turned out very nice.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[41 of 70 customers found this review helpful]

It's worth considering
By Chris, the man child from Conklin, NY on 08/31/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I like the product, we really wanted a glass backboard but it just wasn’t practical for a roof mount, but I must admit this backboard is good. In my opinion it is as close as you’re going to get to glass and the difference is minimal, I have owned 2 other glass systems so I know what they’re like.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[40 of 68 customers found this review helpful]

Great Roof-Top Hoop/ 3-person Install
By MikeTheNuke from Amarillo, TX on 10/25/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Hard To Setup, 2 Guys + 1 Mom
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great quality. Great looking goal once installed. You need two ladders and two strong guys to hold it up to the bracket while a 3rd person places the fasteners. Pretty strenuous. Don't try this alone OR with only 2 men.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[45 of 75 customers found this review helpful]

A good product but not quite perfect...
By Hawki Doug from Iowa City, IA on 11/02/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

After putting the backboard up there is some vibration when the ball hits the backboard fairly hard with a shot. I don't know if this is in the brackets which adjust the vertical alignment of the backboard or something else. I do know the front two roof screws on my set up had no where to firmly screw into (they essentially were on the roof area over the gutter.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[35 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

You get what you pay for, and this system is all quality
By Anthony T from Red Bank, NJ on 03/08/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Excellent product, solid, durable materials,still looks great after 6 months of active use. Before I purchased this system, I read some concerns about the setup being difficult. It does take at least two strong men, but anything done on a roof with something very heavy will. The only minor downside is the last 6 inches of my roof has minimal support from below. When I put in those last two bolts they do not offer much support or rigidity. If it seems that the backboard becomes less stable, I will go into the roof and put in supports under the lowest end of the rack to properly bolt into. Very pleased overall with all aspects and would highly recommend this system.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[33 of 62 customers found this review helpful]

works great
By JP from geneseo, IL on 05/18/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:2 Guys + 1 Mom
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Sturdy and simple design, would be very easy to install the second time, now that I know what I'm doing.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[31 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

Great hoop system, but get help to install it.
By Jeff W from Webster, NY on 05/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I bought this to replace a portable unit that was blown over by the wind. It's a great hoop system. I love the regulation sized backboard and it's very stable though the backboard has a slightly softer response than I had hoped. My only issue was managing the size and weight during installation. It took two strong guys on ladders to get it into position, while I had somebody else on the roof tightening bolts to hold it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[32 of 57 customers found this review helpful]

gutter not a problem
By Western New Yorker from Amherst, NY on 05/24/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:flimsy side to side
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I was concerned that gutter would get in the way and was pleasantly surprised--a well-designed system. However, backboard stability side to side needs attention.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[16 of 30 customers found this review helpful]

Surprisingly good product!!
By John in Wheaton from Wheaton, IL on 06/15/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We've used this hoop everyday since I put it up. I was leary of the stability of the frame but it's been amazingly stable. Great looking, solid support. The backboard response is not as good as a glass board would be but I never use the board anyway - nothing but net!! I'd recommend it if you can afford it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[15 of 26 customers found this review helpful]

Good quality product
By Dave from Woodmere, NY on 08/07/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Happy with the product. Setting it up was a bit of a production but this is exactly what we were looking for

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[15 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

Why Didn't I Do This Earlier?!?!
By A Grateful Dad from Houston, TX on 08/07/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I use the product, however it was purchased for my eight year old for his birthday. He has not tired of it and it has succeeded in getting him outdoors for physical activity. Given the configuration of our driveway and garage, we did not have room for a regular pole mount and I was concerned that the roof mount may not be as stable or the backboard may not be as responsive. I have been pleased with both and am very pleased with the purchasing decision.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[12 of 20 customers found this review helpful]

roof king
By hoop on from DENVER, PA on 10/18/2012
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Hard To Setup, it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

once its up, its great.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[11 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

Best in the neighborhood
By Psh from Pearland, TX on 01/02/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing, Install by PDH was cheap
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Used for practice by my Jr High aged kids and family play in the driveway. Looks good and is solid. Definitely better than the cheapo plastic options out there. Backboard has a little bit of wiggle when you use the edges of the glass. Not a problem, but not quite the "excellent action" off the glass I hoped for. If a quality rec/high school hoop is a "10" on little or no wiggle, I'd give this a "7.5", but you can see it move when the ball hits. Hoops Houston did the installation. At first they mounted it so the front of the glass was behind the front edge of the room (ie, reducing the space between the hoop & garage door). They corrected it, a bit reluctantly, at my insistence but it's all good in the end.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[11 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

Awesome set up, my kid feels like he is in a gym
By SirDunkAlot from Los Angeles, CA on 01/18/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Solid Backboard Response
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

It is a great product, for sure need some strength to put up. but once up, makes you feel like you are in a gym. would buy it again and again.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[11 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

No regrets!
By Bruin73 from Los Angles, CA on 02/01/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Hard To Setup, it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great prodcut. It is built to last. I am a white collar guy so I did not attempt to put up the hoop myself. I got some quotes from the preferred vendors for setting up the hoop and I thought they were on the high side. As a result, I ended up having our handyman put it up at a much lower price. He had to get help from another individual to put up the hoop.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[11 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

Game On!
By little mama from Bellingham, WA on 02/07/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Solid Backboard Response, Stable, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Poor Materials / Construction, it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Though we love that the backboard is sturdy and heavy it did make instillation a challenge. It feels like the frame is flimsy compared to the weight of the hoop & backboard. But, maybe the engineer's worked on all that - cause now that it's installed it feels solid.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[8 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

Best looking goal out there.
By Ken P. from Pearland, TX on 02/25/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great looking goal,has the same look as the backboards and rims used in NBA arenas.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

Great backyard fun!
By "E" from Glencoe, IL on 02/25/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Flimsy Backboard
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Love the product, wish I had a glass backboard. Acrylic is a bit wobbly on edge of backboard.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

Well constructed product which looks exactly as described
By Dad coach from Studio City, CA on 02/25/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My son uses this product to practice for basketball. It is very well constructed looks great and the backboard has good give. It is difficult to set up only insofar as you need to people to do so but otherwise it was relatively easy. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

Kids love it!
By Rodney from Houston, TX on 06/11/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great goal.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

Kids say it's the best! And i say it looks good!
By AliBlake from MARION, MA on 06/11/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Get the big back board. It's worth the extra dollars.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[10 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

Lives up to its reputation
By Dad from Columbus, OH on 06/11/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Hard To Setup
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

It was challanging to get the backboard up to the roof. I had to use a hoist. No way could it be 2 men and a mom - but it was worth the effort and nobody died

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[10 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

Awesome!
By Mike from Wilmette, IL on 06/12/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Easy to set up and mount on my garage roof. High-quality, heavy-duty backboard. We love it!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[10 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

Great Product
By Satisfied customer from new ulm, MN on 06/14/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Our family really likes this hoop. The materials are quality and it looks nice on our garage. You need to have several people if you are putting it up yourself. You also need something solid to stand on, a ladder is not enough!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

Best by far!!!
By Steve from Urbana, OH on 08/13/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We use this hoop all the time! It looks good and it plays great!! No problems with it at all. The only advice I would give to someone installing it themselves is...have all your tools ready to go before you start. Other than that,no problems at all!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[8 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

High quality
By Daren from Evanston, IL on 08/22/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I have been longing for a basketball hoop for several years, but the only place with enough space to play is near my garage roof. After much research, the roof-mount hoop by pro dunk hoops seemed most appropriate (note, there are a few fine-print restrictions on required garage height). I didn't attempt to install, so I can't comment on ease of installation, except that I knew I wouldn't be able to install it on my own due to its weight. The hoop is great...soft rim but not too soft, and large grippy backboard that adds proper english to bank shots. Hoop is similar quality to high-school and college hoops that I've played on. I highly recommend the large "platinum" backboard size. Only regret is that I waited so long to get a hoop.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

The Roof King is bar none the best
By Hoop Family from Watsonville, CA on 12/27/2013
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The product is well made and very heavy duty. We ended up screwing the set screws thru the roof shakes and into a 2 x 4 on the under side of the roof to add some strength as the plywood roof material was not very sturdy. The backboard and hoop look very professional and the basketball response is very good, even off the sides. This setup is beyond anything you can get at a local sporting goods store. We are very happy. My brother in law helped me in stall it and it took about 2 hours start to finish and that included taking the old one down. We used a tie down to hold the backboard in place while we secured the nuts and bolts.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[9 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

Glad we did it!!!!
By Matt from Sugar Land, TX on 01/16/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing, friendly and neat, Install by PDH was cheap
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The family loves it. Great fun to see the skills develop.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[7 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

Looks great! Easy to put up! Professional look & play!
By Kev from Oakdale, CT on 02/21/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Missing parts had request, 2 Guys + 1 Mom
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Check all parts, rim/backboard spacers were missing.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[7 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

Excellent choice!
By Nathan the shooter from Katy, TX on 02/22/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing, Took three to install
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Took 3 people to install, but was not difficult, just needed the hands for the weight and safety! Great product after two months of use.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[7 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

Got it in time for Christmas and love it!
By Money boy Frek from Missouri City, TX on 03/01/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing, Installed myself
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Fast ship. Good quality. Easy set up. Nicest goal on the block!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[7 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

Roof top not as stable as I would have thought
By Scott from Sugarland, TX on 03/03/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:Unstable
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Product is quality but roof top seems to be less stable than i thought it would be

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

Great family fun
By Memorial area from Houston, TX on 06/28/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing, Install by PDH was cheap
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great piece of equipment. My sons and I use it 4 days a week and have a blast.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

Solid construction and performance
By JR from Fort Myers, FL on 07/22/2014
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Stable, Solid Backboard Response, Aesthetically Pleasing
Cons:it takes two strong guys
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Everything you advertised...no suprises

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no