Pro Dunk Gold Basketball System Reviews - Page 3

[36 of 66 customers found this review helpful]

great but didn't help my shot so much
By backboard bob from morriston, FL on 05/13/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

wonderful feel...true to gym

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

Excellent Product
By Mike and family from New Windsor, MD on 05/22/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, Commercial Use, Tournaments, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We live on a hill and receive high winds. The system is rock solid. Very impressive, doesn't sway or move at all. Easy to adjust, our 6 year old can raise and lower it. Customer service was excellent as well. Contacted about splitting the shipment so that we could receive the J-bolt and pier system early for the installer - had it within 24 hours.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Sound basketball system
By Trox from Gramercy, LA on 06/04/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Overall great product and robust construction. Backboard very solid.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Family couln't be happier!
By Mike from New Hartford, IA on 06/09/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My family really enjoys the hoop system. I installed myself - concrete was the worst part. Hoop itself went up in less than an hour. It's especially windy where I live and when the wind is blowing 20-30 MPH the hoop doesn't even shake. My four year old can move it up and down by herself! My kids love to hang on the rim and the hoop doesn't seem to mind one bit. Overall very satisfied with construction and performance of the basketball system.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 70 customers found this review helpful]

Pro Dunk Gold Basketball System lives up to its hype and claims
By Brandon from Woods Cross, UT on 06/09/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Cons:Subpar basketball
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Now I know why Pro Dunk Hoops has won "Hoop of the Year" for four years in a row. The day that the hoop was finally in place and ready to play with we had numerous boys stop by and play. I have two sons and one daughter. One of my boys is not athletic and does not care for sports at all, but he plays just as much as the other two kids. He loves how easy it is to raise and lower the hoop. I love how low you can lower the backboard because I don't need a ladder to clean off the glass. We purchased the light system add-on and my kids love that they can keep on playing well into the dark. One of the best investments I have made in a long time. I didn't buy it to make my neighbors jealous, but everyone I talk to says how much they wish they had one just like ours. I always refer them to Pro Dunk Hoops.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[36 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

Love it....
By mitch from Dix Hills, NY on 06/13/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Cons:Difficult To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

can we grease the crank mechanism to adjust height???not so easy to do

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[40 of 65 customers found this review helpful]

I would buy this product again and again
By Tom from Warington, PA on 06/14/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant
Cons:Difficult To Adjust, No play on rainy days!
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My kids are both into basketball and have joined leagues. The purpose for buying such a nice court was to hopefully improve their games, while having some family fun.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

Worth the money!!
By Happy dad from Oak Bluffs, MA on 06/14/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Cons:No play on rainy days!
Best Uses:Residential Use, Commercial Use, Tournaments, Pickup Games, Practice, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I purchased this for my 2 children ages 14 & 11 and since it has been set up there has not been a day that they have not been out using it. My son is shorter than my daughter and he loves to lower it to dunk. This is perfect for a large court or a small back yard.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[41 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

Best hoop in town
By Coach from Ossining, NY on 06/14/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust, Aesthetically Pleasing
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I'm glad I researched the field and made the decision that I did because this goal is without a doubt the gold standard of at-home basketball hoops. My main concern was the ability to get a 2 and 5 year old some early basketball seasoning and the ease of raising and lowering this unit to accommodate them has been perfect. We can go from 5 to 10 feet with ease and the unit has been everything I could have asked for, not to mention the talk of my buddies who are now in the market to add one for their families as well.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

Awesome baby
By Dan from Lincoln University, PA on 06/17/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup
Cons:Difficult To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, Tournaments, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

It is the basketball court i have always wanted. We love it

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 65 customers found this review helpful]

Gym Quality in my Driveway
By Toofdoc20 from Charleston, SC on 06/17/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Cons:Bounces when lowered
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

A terrific system that gives a gym-like feel to outdoor basketball. Our Pro-Dunk hoop has allowed us to make instant friends with all the neighborhood kids. Minor complaints are bouncing of the system when lowering the height of the rim (even after loosening the bolts at the hinge points). Also, we just installed the system about 2 months ago and I have noticed some rust on the bolts (we live on the coast and we got the RustArmor package). However, overall this is a great basketball system and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking about spending a few extra bucks for a quality goal.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[39 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

Professional looking and very well made product.
By CeeVee from Miami, FL on 06/17/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Cons:None.
Best Uses:all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The feel is just like the professional hoops in the high school gymnasium.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 62 customers found this review helpful]

Golden !
By Chief from San Jose, CA on 06/17/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Here's the long and short of it. Went with the Gold system, and am *VERY* happy I did. My 6 year old son loves to dunk and can adjust the height up and down with ease. This thing is solid as can be. It'll survive hurricane... not that we have them in California. But you get the point, and I'd buy it again. The neighbors are jealous. I installed it myself, although my concrete guy did the pillar when he was at my house doing other work. The system can easily be installed with only one other person. It only took about 30 minutes to get bolted up, and then another 30 or so to adjust to square, plumb, level, etc. Piece of cake, really. If you're doing the concrete yourself, that'd be time consuming to mix up in a wheel barrow. I obviously didn't deal with that. Two minor issues to note: 1. The backboard does bounce when adjusting the height downward. I've adjusted the tightness/looseness of the bolts over and over to get rid of it, but I'm not able to completely eliminate it. They're loose enough right now where the system does have some play when the ball hits the backboard on a normal shot. So I think it is probably too loose right now, yet the bouncing still persists. The next step is going to be to disassemble, coat every single bolt with grease, and reassemble. I had only inserted grease into the sleeves previously, and there must not be enough. I think this will take care of the problem. 2. There is significant play on dunks when you have the system lowered near the bottom end, say below 6.5 feet. This is normal, and it goes away completely by 8 feet or so.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[35 of 66 customers found this review helpful]

I would buy this product again
By j dog from Dixon, IA on 06/18/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:High-Quality Materials / Construction
Cons:No play on rainy days!
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

it is very easy to adjust

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[39 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

There's always the pro's & cons~
By Charli from FAIRHOPE, AL on 06/20/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Cons:BASKETBALL POOR QUALITY, NO WARRANTY IN WRITING
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Takes a lot of concrete - but that's ok. We asked for a warranty on the "lifetime" backboard warranty - we were told the backboard was covered for shattering, but never could get that in writing - so who knows...? The cover over the base plate is already rotting from sun & rain; The basketball is already no good - not good quality. Other than that - we love the goal!

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:
There is a limited lifetime warranty on your system covering any kind of basketball play including dunking and hanging. You can find this warranty in the back of your user manual that came with the system or download it from the Support section of the website. Please call or email us and we will get a new basketball and rim plate out immediately.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

Terrific purchase
By The Grandmother from San Jose, CA on 07/12/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Family use ages 7 to 70 ---because of the vast age differences we love the ease of adjusting the hoop. It looks great in our yard, almost like a scupture. We wouldn't change a thing about it. The best family purchase we have made.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 66 customers found this review helpful]

It's Great!
By The Dad from Raleigh, NC on 07/12/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Tournaments, Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

So far looks good, and the ball has a good "feel" off the rim and backboard.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[36 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

Great System
By Super Dad (for now) from Front Royal, VA on 07/23/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Easy To Setup, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction
Cons:No play on rainy days!
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The assembly was fairly simple the hardest was lifting the backboard up to the mount. With three of us we didn't have much trouble at all. I was happy that the backboard came assembled on the frame.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[40 of 65 customers found this review helpful]

Great Basketball Goal!!
By BMW from Jasper, IN on 08/03/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We have 4 kids, varying in ages from 14 to 15 monthes. Our 14 year old likes to have dunking contests with his buddies, as well as some pretty competitive games at home. Then we can adjust it down so our 5 and 7 year old girls can shoot on it and have fun as well. Overall, a great goal for the whole family!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Exactly what I was looking for.
By Archfam from Green River, WY on 08/03/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Works perfect. we love how sturdy and easy to use it is.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[39 of 66 customers found this review helpful]

Top Quality Basketball Hoop!
By Steve from West Fargo, ND on 08/03/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The only Drawback is the handle for raising and lowering it too long. These hoops crank very easily, so a shorter handle should come with it giving the buyer a choice of which to use.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[40 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

"You won't be disappointed!"
By The Eversole Family from Loveland, OH on 08/03/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The whole family enjoys it!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

Solid product
By Benny from Los Angeles, CA on 08/18/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction
Cons:Hard To Setup, Difficult To Adjust
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would not recommend this product to a friend

Overall a good product. 2 major drawbacks are the adjustment mechanism is tedious. I have young kids who use it a 5 feet and older kids who use it at 10ft. It takes a lot of cranking to raise it from 5ft to 10ft. The second drawback is the 4 foot lever arm, it eats up the court. Make sure you have a big enough court to accommodate this hoop.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[41 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

Completely satisfied!
By Hammer from Syosset, NY on 08/18/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

I palyed Division I college basketball and have very high expectations of the product. I could not be more pleased with it's performance. I have recieved many complements about the product and when I tell people the cost they are all surprised at how reasonable the cost is for the quality of the product.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[35 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Best System Available
By Sid The Kid from Huntley, IL on 08/19/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust, Weather Resistant, extends out from baseline
Best Uses:all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

This is the only product I found in this price range where the backboard extends 4 feet off the baseline for safety and under the basket play. We have used for 6 months now and have had no issues or concerns about the product.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

I would reccomend it....
By Charles in Baton Rouge from Greenwell Springs, LA on 08/22/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Cons:Hard To Setup
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

The post I received had the mounting flanges for the crank welded in the wrong location. I spent a lot of time convincing folks that there was a problem, then wating on the replacment parts to arrive. Other than that, I am very pleased with the heavy duty construction, apperance and solid backboard play. The goal has seen a lot of play time from my boys and their freinds in the neighborhood. If you guys would send me a free driveway stencil kit for my trouble, it would be much appreciated and I would totally forget my installation woes.

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:
Going out FedEx today. Thank you for working with us!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[40 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

This product is best by far!
By Sweetness from SALINA, KS on 08/23/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My family and friends enjoy the stability and strength that comes with this goal. We use it for pick-up games and just shooting around. We have big guys dunking and little dudes dunking all the time. Very stable, strong, and easy to use. Perfect if you don't want to worry about when the rim or pole will bend because it's a non issue with this goal!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

I would buy this product again and again
By Todd the coach from Cedar Hills, UT on 08/24/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We have loved our hoop. We use it for family and neighbors seem to gather to our pad as well. The hoop is the most solid and real responding backboard I have seen around. I'm surprised more people don't buy pro dunk systems.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[35 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

This product is awesome. We have four kids and they can all use it. My husband can even play rough on it.
By Bolton ballers from Canon City, CO on 08/29/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

This is great. Everyone in the nieborhood loves it. Thanks

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 65 customers found this review helpful]

Quality system
By Craig from North East, MD on 09/03/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

More expensive than others, but well worth the price in terms of quality. Excellent customer service, too!

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[39 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

Buy this product if you want a top quality product. Great looking, ease to adjust unlike other major brands.
By Thunder Nation from Newtown, CT on 09/04/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust, lowest height adjustment, great padding
Best Uses:Residential Use, Pickup Games, Practice
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Adjusting the height with ease is important. Smaller kids want to dunk and the easy adjust makes it possible without a hassle. Try and crank one of those brands in the stores. they have very poor designs. This product has the lowest height available. Padding looks and feels well made and not just some feature to help sell the product. Also, the recommended local installer from Pro Dunk did a perfect job.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[33 of 59 customers found this review helpful]

Well engineered, built to last.
By Rog from Southbury, CT on 09/05/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Adjustability is very good. When the shorter/younger cousins are over, lowering it is easy.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 61 customers found this review helpful]

Best hoop I've ever used
By Mike C from Providence, RI on 09/09/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Pickup Games, Residential Use, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Easy to install and very high quality

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 65 customers found this review helpful]

Fun!!
By rune from Decorah, IA on 09/19/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My kids love this hoop! It's easy to adjust the height for shorter and taller kids.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[36 of 60 customers found this review helpful]

Best outdoor activity for the kids
By Manish from Woodbury, NY on 09/19/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Cons:Have a pro install
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Installed on side of driveway. Great activity for kids an grown ups alike.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[35 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

Awesome!
By AJ from East Dubuque, IL on 09/19/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Commercial Use, Tournaments, Pickup Games, all games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

My kids just love it. We also get some adult games going every once in awhile.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[38 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

Great product! Definitely recommend
By Coach T from Mcloud, OK on 09/20/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

We have our league practice at my house now. Great product and easy to assemble. Backboard response is really good. Definetly recommend this product. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[39 of 64 customers found this review helpful]

Solid as a rock!
By foul guy from Hartford, CT on 09/26/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Tournaments, Pickup Games
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Whole family gets together and plays. The only sport we can all do together. Each of my kids has their own specialty sport, but we all can shoot around.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[36 of 62 customers found this review helpful]

Residential usage
By Jim from Wyckoff, NJ on 09/26/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Residential Use
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

Great for my 8 and 7 year old in the backyard as they are starting at 8ft and will work their way up to 10ft. The backboard and rim are top notch quality.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no

[37 of 63 customers found this review helpful]

I would buy this product again and again"
By bball players from cedarhurst, NY on 09/27/2011
This is a verified buyer of this product
Pros:Stable, Solid Backboard Response, High-Quality Materials / Construction, Easy To Setup, Weather Resistant, Easy To Adjust
Best Uses:Practice, Residential Use, Pickup Games, backyard kids game
Bottom LineI would recommend this product to a friend

the kids really love it. best investment, i dont have to fight with them to get them to play outside anymore. they love just shooting around or playing a real game against the neighbors. all the neighbors come to play.

Was this review helpful to you? yes / no